Energy Bites

I know you’re all thinking, “Where does she find the energy to sit in a cubicle at a low/mid-level job, run 13 minute miles, fix dinner for one and lead such an active hulu account?” Well, this week I’ve been experimenting with some energy friendly foods.

One thing I found that was really easy, delicious and gave me a bit of a boost, was these no bake “energy bites” from Smashed Peas and Carrots:

All you do is mix 1 cup oatmeal (I used Bob’s Gluten Free Oatmeal), 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1/3 cup honey (I used agave), 1 cup coconut flakes (which I don’t really care for but Logan likes), 1/2 cup ground flaxseed (apparently you find this near the spices), 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (I threw in a little more) and tsp vanilla.
Then you chill the mixture for a half hour, roll into balls, and snack before work outs, as a morning pick me up, when you have a craving for chocolate, or because it’s there.
Peer review? I gave a couple of these to Joe and Logan as they were playing baseball on the X-Box. They both said they were good and tasted like “candy bars with a lot of fiber.” Within an hour of eating them, they were in the car, driving to the club to party until dawn. These bites are that good, or it was just a typical Friday.
Leave a Reply

