Love Mob

I started today in a full-blown argument at 6am. Despite escalating and then recovering in less than a half hour, not a good start to the day.

I’ve been trying to be good at loving my neighbor as myself. Not literally, because both of my actually neighbors are “snow-birds” and have not yet landed after their summer vacations. This does include my office neighbor, though.  Our cubicles are connected by a 3 foot wall, and sometimes it feels like he’s constantly looking over my shoulder and talking down to me. Yesterday I said something sarcastic (my go-to gut reaction when I feel threatened) and he said something joking, that I found to be tacky and mean. I did rant and rave for a little bit, but then I took a walk, and came back and offered him a gift–a t-shirt I got for (trying) to donate blood.

I’m not the best at calling people, but this week I’ve been really making sure to write notes of affection, and call up/answer the phone for the people I miss. I’ve also made new friends this week by opening my doors (literally and mentally). Brent, a 23-year-old guy who quit his job and decided to travel by bike for a year, stayed at my house Friday night through Couch-surfers. Then, people came over to the house on Saturday for a friend’s birthday to go out on the boat. I had so much fun doing that, I invited Logan’s work friend and his girlfriend over for dinner “anytime”. Logan decided that we should redeem that offer on Tuesday, so we cooked up some fajitas (she’s gluten-free too). What was great about inviting these people into my home, was really listening to everyone’s stories and jokes. It’s a lot easier to appreciate people and stay in the moment when you’re not always trying to put in your 2 cents.

Charity. I tried giving blood, but after sticking me repeatedly in both arms, the two very large men declared me “too much of a dainty flower”. They sent me on my way with a t-shirt, some apple juice and a “better luck next time”. I was trying to figure out what I’d like to be a part of. I’ve been trying to get involved in an “anti-bullying” charity, but no one will respond to my emails/call. Then I thought about it, and decided Big Brothers Big Sisters might be the place for me. I have my “very thorough” meeting on Monday. They said they might have me going in to schools and reading/hanging out with kids, which would be cool. I’ll let you know if they like me.

Did anyone do anything for International Day of Peace yesterday? All over the world they had “flash mediation mobs”, including about 150 people in Austin, who then did a “sound bath” or the refraining of one word/chant. That would be pretty cool to have seen. You can check out more information about it here.

Leave a Reply

